Enescu’s Farewell – A Symphony for Twelve @ King’s Place

19/09/2011 @ King’s Place, 90 York Way, London, N1 9AG.

The Romanian Cultural Institute and London Schubert Players have the pleasure to invite you to a celebration of George Enescu’s musical genius: Enescu’s Farewell – A Symphony for Twelve.

The concert is preceded by a talk by Noel Malcolm, distinguished scholar and journalist, author of George Enescu’s much acclaimed biography.              

Enescu’s last, most intimate and possibly greatest work - written in Paris during his final months, in 1954 - The Chamber Symphony for 12 Solo Instruments will be heard in London for the first time. Besides this famous piece, three compositions inspired by it will be performed, part of the London Schubert Players’ visionary project Invitation to Composers. The programme will also feature some of Enescu’s miniatures never before heard in the UK.  


Enescu: Aria and Scherzino
Enescu: Pastorale, Menuet triste et Nocturne
Enescu: Serenade Lointaine                                    
Enescu: Chamber Symphony for 12 Solo Instruments                                                    
Bjørn Bolstad Skjelbred (Norway): Echoes of Time Lost                            
Aurelian Bacan (Romania): Three Sketches                                          
Jonathan Östlund (Sweden): A Northern Symphony     


Anda Anastasescu: piano
Alberto Portugheis: piano
Daniel Petrica Ciobanu: piano
Hu Kun: conductor
Enesco Quartet (Paris)
Musica Nova

When & Where:
Monday, 19 September 2011: pre-concert talk at 6:30pm - St. Pancras Room; concert at 8:00pm - Hall 2
King’s Place, 90 York Way, London, N1 9AG.

Tickets: £12.50 and £9.50 (subject to availability). Box office: www.kingsplace.co.uk or  020 7520 1490.
At the pre-concert talk tickets are FREE, however must be booked through the Box Office at 020 7520 1490.