Talented Pianist Oxana Corjos Opens the Autumn Season of the Enescu Concerts Series

04/10/2018 @ Romanian Cultural Institute

We are happy to resume our ever popular Enescu Concerts Series with a dashing piano recital by Oxana Corjos, one of the most talented musicians of her generation, renowned for both her technique and the sheer emotion she conveys to the audiences. At the summit of her artistic career, Oxana is well known for her vast repertoire which encompasses works from Bach and Mozart to Rachmaninoff and Ravel. For the opening of our autumn season, the pianist proposes a rich programme of delightful compositions for piano by Bach, Debussy, Prokofiev and, of course, Enescu.


Johann Sebastian Bach (In memoriam Dinu Lipatti) - “Jesu Joy of Man’s Desiring” and “Siciliano”
Claude Debussy – “La serenade interrompue”, “La Puerta del Vino”, “Feux d'artifice”
George Enescu - Adagio from Suite “Dans le style ancien”
Sergei Prokofiev – Piano Sonata No. 6

Pianist Oxana Corjos was born in a family of musicians and started to study music early in her childhood. She graduated from the National University of Music Bucharest, where she studied with renowned Dan Grigore. She is the recipient of numerous awards in international piano competitions in Rome (1991) and Barcelona (1986) and, in 1992, she won the prestigious “Cella Delavrancea” award. Throughout her career, Oxana Corjos collaborated with prestigious conductors such as: Jin Wang, Ilarion Ionescu-Galaţi, Misha Katz, Cristian Mandeal, Gian Luigi Zampieri, Jan Stulen, Petre Sbârcea, Gheorghe Costin, Emil Simon, Corneliu Dumbrăveanu and Cem Mansur. In Romania, the pianist played with the most representative orchestras such as the National Radio Orchestra and the “George Enescu” Philharmonic Orchestra and she toured, with great success, in Switzerland, Spain, Italy and the Republic of Moldova. This concert is her London debut.

When: Thursday, 4 October 2018, 19:00
Where: Romanian Cultural Institute, 1 Belgrave Square, London SW1X 8PH
Entrance is free but we kindly request you to book your ticket HERE.
Please note that seating is unreserved.